Dates

15 - 16 July 2022

Times

4:00 - 9:00am GMT
5:00 - 10:00am London
6:00 - 11:00am Utrecht, Paris, Zurich
12:00 - 5:00pm Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei
1:00 – 6:00pm Tokyo
2:00 - 7:00 pm Melbourne

Location

Melbourne + Online

Address for event at Monash

Monash Art, Design and Architecture
Building F
Caulfield Campus
900 Dandenong Road, 3145

Access

Open to public and free of charge.

Registration

Registration HERE

Description

The Conversations with … Extractivism symposium will bring together an ensemble of researchers who explore the notion of ‘extractivism’ across different fields and through a myriad of forms, including (though not limited to):

– Supply chains at the scale of the local and global
– Extractive practices operating at micro and macro levels
– Enterprises that encompass the terrestrial and off-world
– Mining tangible natural resources such as rare earth minerals
– Examining the role of ‘sustainable futures’
– Interrogating scars that cut through the Earth and its inhabitants.

Crucial to considering ‘extractivism’ through these structures is an accountability for Indigenous struggles and propositions for degrowth, resistance, and emancipation.

This two-day hybrid symposium is collectively led by Dr Nicholas Mangan, Dr Eduardo Kairuz, and Charity Edwards from Monash University’s Faculty of Art Design & Architecture (MADA). It will be hosted in-person at Monash University’s Caulfield Campus, Melbourne, and simultaneously online.

Key note speakers

Dr Alonso Barros is a lawyer (PUCCh) and holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge. Combining two decades of experience in advocacy and anthropology, his work involves projects affecting indigenous peoples' territories in Latin America. Since 2013, he has worked as a researcher and litigation lawyer, mediator and arbiter on behalf of Indigenous peoples and communities involved with the extractive industry in the Atacama Desert. Currently, Alonso is a Visiting Professor at the School of Architecture, Royal College of Art (London).

Dr Susan Schuppli https://susanschuppli.com/ is an UK-based artist and researcher whose work examines material evidence ranging from war and conflict to environmental disasters and climate change. She is a Reader and Director of the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths, University of London; and an affiliate artist-researcher and Board Chair of Forensic Architecture.

List of involved presenters

Will be published by 22 June 2022.