Participants have the opportunity to gain experience in practical artistic and creative collaboration with colleagues from different arts disciplines and cultural backgrounds. An international team of lecturers will accompany the participants in their explorations.

Application Deadline

13 March 2023

Information Events

08 February 2023 - 1st Summer School Information event

09:00 – 10:30 London/Lisbon
10:00 – 11:30 Amsterdam ⁄ Paris ⁄Siegen ⁄Trondheim/ Zurich
17:00 – 18:30 Hong Kong ⁄ Singapore/Taipei
18:00 – 19:30 Tokyo ⁄ Kyoto
20:00 – 21:30 Melbourne

28 February 2023 - 2nd Summer School Information event

11:00 – 12:30 London/Lisbon
12:00 – 13:30 Amsterdam ⁄ Paris ⁄Siegen ⁄Trondheim/ Zurich
19:00 – 20:30 Hong Kong ⁄ Singapore/Taipei
20:00 – 21:30 Tokyo ⁄ Kyoto
22:00 – 23:30 Melbourne

Information Event Access Link

https://zhdk.zoom.us/j/5568218974
Password: 468588

Crafting Environmental Justice

Dates

21 June – 08 July 2023

Location

Hong Kong

Description

This Summer School asks: How can we care for and about the environment of our tired planet and its inhabitants? How can we use the vehicle of craft to counter the misguided imperial, colonial and capitalist promises that continue threatening the commons and rights of all bodies to livable lives?

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/crafting

Remote Guide to Extractivism

Dates

03 July – 15 July 2023

Location

Athens, Melbourne

Description

Extractivism describes an economy that has an enormous impact on environmental and social systems and rarely delivers the benefits it promises. This summer school will place students in two sites of extractivism across the globe over the course of two weeks to investigate and map processes occurring simultaneously in the past, present, and future.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/remoteguide

Restless in the 1960s: The Tokyo Experience with the Avant-Garde

Dates

28 July – 10 August 2023

Location

Tokyo

Description

Taking Tokyo as an example to learn about the vibrant and restless 1960s in a larger context, this summer school aims to bring historical consciousness to artistic practice, which inspires our reflections on contemporary societies today. Through talks and lectures, site visits and studio practice, participants will actively explore their creative work with reference to history and memory.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/restless

(un)learning matters: socially engaged art in Hong Kong

Dates

07 August – 18 August 2023

Location

Hong Kong

Description

Participants will explore, engage with and generate new knowledge about their own and other creative practices by creating an activity/workshop/class/curriculum of unlearning through socially engaged art practices in Hong Kong.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/unlearningmatters

Hacking Global Pop Icons

Dates

07 August – 27 August 2023

Location

Zurich

Description

This practice-based summer school will explore the relationship between global pop cultures and local identities through examining the political, social, technological and historical dimensions of (mass) production and reception. By means of transdisciplinary co-creation the influence of a chosen pop icon will be deconstructed, remixed and expanded. The overarching theme for 2023 is "The Natures of Pop”.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/hackingglobal

Underwater Cables: Practices in Telematic Performances

Dates

21 August – 30 August 2023

Location

Zurich, Trondheim, Singapore

Description

An interdisciplinary course where students collaborate from various disciplinary backgrounds across dislocated stages in the remote hub locations (Zurich, Singapore, Trondheim). Students will explore the aesthetical, narrative, and political dimensions of telematic immersive performance-making through learning techniques in staging, scoring, improvisation, and performance art.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/underwatercables