We are very pleased to offer seven international Shared Campus summer schools this year. Participants have the opportunity to gain experience in practical artistic and creative collaboration with colleagues from different arts disciplines and cultural backgrounds. An international team of lecturers will accompany the participants in their explorations.

Extended Application Deadline

6 May 2022

Information Events

15.03.2022 - 1st Summer School Information event

11:00 – 12:00 London
12:00 – 13:00 Amsterdam ⁄ Trondheim ⁄ Utrecht ⁄ Zurich
19:00 – 20:00 Hong Kong ⁄ Taipei
20:00 – 21:00 Tokyo ⁄ Kyoto
22:00 – 23:00 Melbourne

04.04.2022 - 2nd Summer School Information event

11:00 – 12:00 London
12:00 – 13:00 Amsterdam ⁄ Trondheim ⁄ Utrecht ⁄ Zurich
18:00 – 20:00 Hong Kong ⁄ Taipei
19:00 – 21:00 Tokyo ⁄ Kyoto
20:00 – 23:00 Melbourne

Information Event Access Link

https://zhdk.zoom.us/j/5568218974
Password: 468588

Food for the Future – Cooking, Eating and Crafting Hospitality

Dates

27 June – 15 July 2022

Location

Online

Description

Cooking, eating and hospitality, founded on principles of sharing, bear a transformative social design potential approached in this summer school. Drawing on shared campus ethos of interculturality, participants will explore themes of food, crafting, preparation, hosting, hospitality and choreography of the meal as a social design act and cultural expression.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?foodforthefuture

Commoning Curatorial and Artistic Education

Dates

23 June – 7 July 2022

Location

Kassel and online

Description

The two-week-long Summer School "Commoning Curatorial and Artistic Education" in Kassel, Germany, as part of documenta fifteen’s educational format “CAMP notes on education” is dedicated to PhD programmes and students of the involved Shared Campus universities. Experiences on practice and theory will be shared and discussed in open and experiential workshop formats, performance, exercises with and in the city, “diversity dinners” and through a variety of events and public talks.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?commoning

Remote Guide to Extractivism

Dates

5 – 16 July 2022

Location

Melbourne, Taipei, Athens

Description

Extractivism describes an economy that has an enormous impact on environmental and social systems and rarely delivers the benefits it promises. The summer school “Remote Guide to Extractivism” will place students in multiple sites of extractivism across the world over the course of 2 weeks to investigate and map processes occurring simultaneously in the past, present, and future.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?remoteguide

History Reviewed. We Can’t Forget How to Move.

Dates

18 - 31 July 2022

Location

Bangkok

Description: In 1999, landmark exhibition Cities on the Move toured to Bangkok unfolding the millennial global art development. The whole world has shifted now and this summer school aims to review this recent past in a Thai context as a case study in order to reconsider our position today, perhaps for our future moves.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?historyreviewed

Rivers. Jugular Veins of Empire.

Dates

8 - 26 August 2022

Location

London + Online

Description

This summer school uses the River Thames and other bodies of water as a departure point for a decolonised reimagining of our cities and their potential futures. It will be participatory and generative, culminating in an exhibition/presentation that explores how socially-engaged-art practices provoke awareness of our cities and their connections.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?rivers

Hacking Global Pop Icons

Dates

15 August - 3 September 2022

Location

Zurich

Description

Hacking Global Pop Icons is a practice-based three-week summer school. It will explore the relationship between global pop cultures and local identities through examining the political, social, technological and historical dimensions of (mass) production and reception. A global pop icon serves as the common starting point for cultural analysis and for the transdisciplinary production of new works seeking to deconstruct, remix and expand the influence of the chosen icon. The overarching theme for 2022 is "Real Fake / Fake Realness".

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?hacking

Teleprovisation - Interdisciplinary Telematic Improvisation

Dates

22 - 31 August 2022

Location

Kyoto, Singapore, Trondheim, Zurich

Description

Teleprovisation Summer School is a 10 days interdisciplinary course where students will learn about methods, strategies, and aesthetics in telematic simultaneous performances.

Students will explore methods of improvisation, collaborate between four remote locations (Zurich, Kyoto, Singapore, Trondheim) and create a synchronous performance split between 4 stages across 3 time zones.

Online Application

https://intern.zhdk.ch/?teleprovisation