Description:

The main focus of the event is to approach improvisation in music from a wide variety of perspectives and historical practices (Baroque, Classical, Romantic and Contemporary), through presentations, performances, workshops and roundtables.

Improvise! 2021 will be conducted online (in Zurich and Hong Kong) from Friday 26 March until Monday 29 March 2021.

The activities will be grouped into four sessions as follows:

Session 1

Zurich: 9:30am – 11:00 am = Hong Kong: 3:30pm – 5:00pm
Concurrent activities: presentations, roundtables and rehearsals

Session 2

Zurich: 11:30am – 12:30pm = Hong Kong: 5:30 pm – 6:30pm
Concurrent activities: performances, workshops and collaborative projects

Session 3

Zurich: 2:00pm – 4:00pm = Hong Kong: 8:00 pm – 10:00pm
Plenary session: performance

Session 4

Zurich: 4:30pm – 5:30pm = Hong Kong: 10:30 – 11:30pm
Plenary session: performance/workshops/roundtable

Tentative schedule

March 26

formal opening, student’s collaborative projects/rehearsals

March 27

Session 1: Zurich / Session 2: Hong Kong / Session 3: Zurich / Session 4: Zurich + Hong Kong

March 28

Student’s collaborative projects /rehearsals

March 29

Session 1: Hong Kong / Session 2: Zurich / Session 3: Hong Kong / Session 4: Zurich + Hong Kong